18.—Seventeenth Ministry of Nova Scotia, as at Apr. 30, 1965

(Party standing at latest General Election, Oct. 8, 1963: 39 Progressive Conservative and 4 Liberal.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and Minister of Education Minister of Finance and Economics and	Hon, R. L. Stanfield	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956
Commission	Hon, G. I. Smith	Nov. 20, 1956	May 2, 1962 Nov. 20, 1956
Health	Hon. R. A. Donahoz	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956
Highways	Hon. S. T. Pyke	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956 May 2, 1962
of Fisheries	Hon. E. D. Haliburton	Nov. 20, 1956	
Minister of Labour	Hon. N. L. Fergusson	Nov. 20, 1956	May 2, 1962
Minister of Trade and Industry and Minister under the Water Act	Hon. W. S. KENNEDY JONES	Apr. 21, 1960	July 6, 1964 May 2, 1962
Minister without Portfolio		Oct. 13, 1960	Oct. 13, 1960
the Liquor Control Act	Hon. D. M. SMITH	Oct. 13, 1960	Dec. 12, 1961 Oct. 13, 1960
Minister without Portfolio	Hon. D. R. MACLEOD		July 6, 1964
Minister of Agriculture and Marketing	Hon, I. W. AKERLEY	July 6, 1964	July 6, 1964
Provincial Secretary and Minister in Charge of Civil Defence	Hon. G. J. Doucer	July 6, 1964	July 6, 1964
Attorney General and Minister of Public Health. Minister of Public Works and Minister of Highways. Minister of Lands and Forests and Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Labour Minister of Trade and Industry and Minister under the Water Act. Minister without Portfolio. Minister of Mines and Minister in Charge of the Liquor Control Act. Minister without Portfolio. Minister of Public Welfare. Minister of Public Welfare. Minister of Agriculture and Marketing. Provincial Secretary and Minister in Charge	Hon. R. A. Donahoe Hon. S. T. Pyke. Hon. E. D. Haliburton. Hon. N. L. Fergusson. Hon. W. S. Kennedy Jones. Hon. G. A. Burridge. Hon. D. M. Smith. Hon. D. R. MacLeod. Hon. J. M. Harding. Hon. J. M. Kegugh. Hon. I. J. McKegugh. Hon. I. W. Akerley.	Nov. 20, 1956 Nov. 20, 1956 Nov. 20, 1956 Nov. 20, 1956 Apr. 21, 1960 Oct. 13, 1960 Oct. 13, 1960 July 6, 1964	Nov. 20, 16 Nov. 20, 16 Nov. 20, 19 Nov. 20, 19 May 2, 19 July 27, 16 July 6, 19 May 2, 19 Oct. 13, 19 Oct. 13, 19 July 6, 18 July 6, 18 July 6, 18 July 6, 19

Subsection 4.—New Brunswick

The Government of New Brunswick has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. The Hon. J. Leonard O'Brien, Lieutenant-Governor at Apr. 30, 1964, was commissioned to office June 6, 1958. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation (1867) are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 108.

The Legislature elected Apr. 22, 1963 is the 45th in New Brunswick's history and the 18th since Confederation. It has 52 members who are elected for a statutory term of five years. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 108.

The Premier receives \$7,500 per annum in addition to the salary for any other portfolio he may hold. The salary of each Cabinet Minister is \$10,000 and the amount paid as indemnity to each member of the House of Assembly is \$3,400 plus an additional \$1,700 allowance for expenses. The Leader of the Opposition receives an additional \$6,000 and the Speaker receives an allowance of \$4,000 in addition to the regular indemnity.

19.-Legislatures of New Brunswick, 1945-65, as at Apr. 30, 1965

Note.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 77; for 1924-35 in the 1938 edition, p. 112; and for 1936-44 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 84.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 28, 1944 June 28, 1948 Sept. 22, 1952 June 18, 1956 June 27, 1960 Apr. 22, 1963	13th	4	Feb. 20, 1945 Mar. 8, 1949 Feb. 12, 1953 Feb. 21, 1957 Nov. 17, 1960 May 28, 1963	May 18, 1948 July 16, 1952 Apr. 17, 1956 May 19, 1960 Mar. 12, 1963

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Apr. 30, 1965.